Abstract

Czech Leuenberg Synod

The thesis deals with the Czech Leuenberg Synod, an ecumenical assembly of denominations that signed the Leuenberg Agreement (Church of the Brethren in the Czech Republic, Czechoslovak Hussite Church, Church of Czech Brethren, Methodist Church, Silesian Church of the Augsburg Confession). The Synod was formed in 2000. The meetings of the Synod take place every other year and each denomination is represented by four delegates.

The first chapter introduces the historical and theological importance of the Leuenberg Agreement as the basic document of the Synod. The second chapter deals with the first meeting in 2000, its statutes and the documents approved on this meeting. The third chapter describes the following meetings and focuses on the topic of each meeting, important documents and/or decisions of the Synod. This chapter includes also the names of the Synod presidents and vice-presidents. The fourth chapter is a reflection of the twenty years of the existence of the Synod and it introduces several suggestions for the future work.

The thesis is based upon theological and historical-theological literature, church press, documents of the Czech Leuenberg Synod and consultations with the current or former representatives of the Synod.

Key words (in alphabetical order): Church of the Brethren in the Czech Republic, Czechoslovak Hussite Church, Church of Czech Brethren, Ecumenism, Leuenberg Agreement, Methodist Church, Pavel Filipi, Protestantism, Silesian Church of the Augsburg Confession